Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Lynette Yiadom-Boakye.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Lynette Yiadom-Boakye"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
Lynette Yiadom-Boakye: Verses after Dusk by
Lynette Yiadom-Boakye is a figurative painter whose oil paintings focus on fictional figures that exist outside of a specific time and place. Typically, her works are completed in one day, a methodical approach that allows her to maintain neutral narratives and lends her paintings an indeterminate feel. At the heart of her work is an exploration of the mechanics of painting where she reconstructs the meaning that contemporary painting can hold in all its unexpected beauty and idiosyncratic details.
Lynette Yiadom-Boakye by
Based in London, Lynette Yiadom-Boakye has emerged in recent years as a major talent in the international art scene, winning widespread acclaim for her large-scale, luminous portraits. Working in a luxuriously dark, muted palette offset by bursts of radiant color, Yiadom-Boakye paints subjects from her imagination, whose stories she sometimes elaborates through short fiction. Whether with a shy smile, leering, or evading one's gaze, Yiadom-Boakye's subjects consistently confront the viewer with a beguiling sense of intimacy and the implication of larger, hidden life. This volume contains critical essays that assess the artist's practice and distinctive approach to portraiture, an interview with the artist, and short stories by the artist that give life to her paintings.
Vitamin P: New Perspectives in Painting by
An up-to-the-minute survey of contemporary painting featuring 115 artists from around the world, Vitamin P allows the reader to look at the medium in detail, to study painting's unique properties in relation to itself, in relation to contemporary art, and in relation to the world at large. Among the artists included is Lynette Yiadom-Boakye.
The Ungovernables by
"The Ungovernables" is the highly anticipated second New Museum Triennial. It captures the perspectives, preoccupations, and experiences of an inventive and informed generation of international artists who came of age after the independence and revolutionary movements of the 1960s and 1970s. This important volume features thirty-four artists and artist collectives working in painting, sculpture, drawing, performance, video, and other activities. Through explorations of form, objecthood, material, and temporality, these artists negotiate time and their experience of our contemporary moment, often demonstrating a profound mistrust of permanence. Many of the works are provisional, site-specific, and performative, reflecting an attitude of possibility and faith in the contingent nature of our time.
A life in a day
This article discusses the work of the British artist of Ghanaian descent Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, commenting on the fictional characters in her paintings which purport to be portraits, the speed with which the artist completes the works, and the ordinariness of the people portrayed. It considers the fact that all the imaginary people depicted by the artist are black, setting Yiadom-Boakye's work within a white-dominated history of portraiture in Western art and discussing the artist's own view of the politics of black portraiture in relation to her own black British cultural background.
Levitating Blackness: Lynette Yiadom-Boakye’s Right to Opacity
The article discusses the depiction of black people and blackness in the art of painter Lynette Yiadom-Boakye with a focus on her use of color and her role in the Black Arts Movement.