Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Leslie Hewitt.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Leslie Hewitt"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
Leslie Hewitt: Sudden Glare of the Sun by
Published on the occasion of Leslie Hewitt's exhibition at the Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis in 2012, this book focuses on four distinct yet related bodies of work—"Make It Plain" (2006), "Midday" (2009), "A Series of Projections" (2010), and "Blue Skies, Warm Sunlight" (2011). Included essays range from an exploration of Hewitt's work in the context of the history of still-life to her engagement of photographic archives.
Leslie Hewitt by
This is the first monograph surveying the renown American artist Leslie Hewitt's oeuvre, including photography and sculpture as well as a film collaboration with Bradford Young.
Discusses the work of American artist and photographer Leslie Hewitt. The author suggests that her work is characteristic of the post-Civil Rights movement generation in her elegant probing of the boundaries between photography and sculpture. He commends her technical expertise and identifies richness of heritage and power of family and community as key themes in her work.
Memory objects: Leslie Hewitt Trains Her Lens on Photography's Charged History
The questions posed by Leslie Hewitt's artistic practice, which moves freely from still photography to sculpture and installation, cut any tie between linear narrative and photography. "I want to make the act of viewing less passive, to engage and question, to challenge and deconstruct our desire for a whole," she explains. "My engagement with the photograph is one of antagonism and obsession.