Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Koyo Kouoh.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Koyo Kouoh"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
Issa Samb by
Published in conjunction with the "Documenta 13" exhibition in Kassel, Germany, the Documenta notebook series "100 Notes,100 Thoughts" ranges from archival ephemera to conversations and commissioned essays. These notebooks express director Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev's curatorial vision for "Documenta 13".
We Face Forward: Art from West Africa Today by
This is a catalogue of an exhibition held at the Manchester City Galleries, the Whitworth Art Gallery and the Gallery of Costume, Manchester, England from June 2 - September 16, 2012. To celebrate the 2012 Olympics and offer a global welcome to the many visitors who were visiting the UK and, in particular, the North West, Manchester’s two main galleries collaborated for the first time on a major exhibition of contemporary art drawn from countries in West Africa. The exhibition featured painting, photography, textiles, sculpture, video and sound work.
A Companion to Modern African Art by
Offering a wealth of perspectives on African modern and Modernist art from the mid-nineteenth century to the present, this new Companion features essays by African, European, and North American authors who assess the work of individual artists and explore broader themes such as discoveries of new technologies and globalization. This continent-based assessment of modern art and modernity across Africa includes original and previously unpublished fieldwork-based material, features new and complex theoretical arguments about the nature of modernity and Modernism, and addresses a widely acknowledged gap in the literature on African Art.
Art in Dakar
Koyo Kouoh, founder of the space RAW Material Company, traces shifts in curating and the public sphere in the aftermath of independence. Art historian Cheryl Finley delivers her critical assessment of the twelfth edition of the biennial exhibition Dak'Art. Curator Sean Anderson excavates the fault lines in the city's sprawling built environment.
An interview with Koyo Kouoh, curator of EVA International, Ireland's Biennial of contemporary art, is presented, wherein he talks about the works of art he wants to own, his advice to young curators and the factors that influence his curation of EVA.