Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Karen Kilimnik.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Karen Kilimnik"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
Karen Kilimnik by
Published on the occasion of the first major museum survey of Karen Kilimnik's work, this catalogue highlights an American artist whose work objectifies mass-cultural desire with glittering poignancy and includes a nuanced selection of 15 years worth of collage-based activity in the realms of painting, drawing, photography, sculptural installation and object-making, as well as new work.
The Mystery of Painting by
This is a catalogue of an exhibition drawn from Sammlung Goetz, held October 29, 2001 - April 5, 2002. It includes an interview by Jessica Morgan. Artists include: Ellen Gallagher, Toba Khedoori, Karen Kilimnik, Udomsak Krisanamis, Sarah Morris, Chris Ofili, Laura Owens, Lari Pittman, Matthew Ritchie.
Die Neunziger = The Nineties : Karen Kilimnik, Jutta Koether, Marlene McCarty by
"It is not the introduction of a new trend or a new paradigm that is at issue in the art of Karen Kilimnik, Jutta Koether and Marlene McCarty; on the contrary: the nineties can be described by an analysis of the work of these three artists which is at the same time a thorough analysis of the changes and shifts of past strategies."
What Do You Know About My Image Duplicator?
This article compares a vast array of Kilimnik's works and connects them to aspects of society. It also examines Kilimnik's JANE CREEP series of framed handwritten notes, begun in the late 1980s, her use of different media, and her interest in ballet as reflected in recent exhibitions of her photographs and paintings.
Battles or the Art of War
Karen Kilimnik's installation "Battles or the Art of War" (1991) is discussed. Although open-ended in intent, this work—a cross between a stage and a film set—forms a closed environment. With objects in an ambivalent state of suspension, it treads the line between times, styles, and scales without shying away from the risk of being ridiculous or cheap. The installation shuttles between anarchy and discipline and colors the horrors and inevitability of war hysteria with manipulation, simulation, and hypocrisy.