Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on John Corbett.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "John Corbett"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
Throughout the vast interior of the United States, contemporary artists are responding to the world around them and reshaping it in unexpected ways. Published to coincide with an exhibition of the same name, Heartland offers an idiosyncratic look at innovative forms of cultural production taking place across the region. This engaging book is part critical reader, part catalogue. Contributors explore the region through topics ranging from art to music to urban farming to political history. An illustrated section introduces over twenty artists featured in Heartland. Heartland challenges expectations of place and illuminates a diverse assembly of artists who are redefining the cultural terrain of the American heartland.
Arturo Herrera: Series by
This volume collects 17 new collage series by Venezuelan artist Arturo Herrera (born 1959)--works pitched somewhere between abstract composition and poetically fragmented scrapbooks of the everyday. As the artist writes, "Collage is our portrait of life rearranged and reordered." A contribution by John Corbett is included in this text.
Turpentin 2012 Turpentine by
For over 30 years, German painter Albert Oehlen (born 1954) has been building a body of work distinguished by its skeptical questioning of painting as a medium. Instead of turning his back on painting, the artist has chosen to engage with this skepticism within the medium itself. Oehlen followed his rude, provocative Neo-Expressionist attacks of the 1980s with a cooler brand of computer-based images in the 1990s. He then created a subsequent series of painted-over advertising and his more recent, abstract expressionist works. This catalogue features exemplary works from the artist's various creative periods and includes a contribution by John Corbett.
This article offers news briefs related to art in Victoria, Australia as of August 2013. The exhibition "Making Time: The Art of John Corbett 1974-2013" was held at the Ararat Regional Art Gallery through August 11, 2013.
Jim Dempsey and John Corbett Named #7 in Newcity’s Top Art 50
The annual Newcity list “Art50: Chicago’s Visual Vanguard” named gallery co-owners Jim Dempsey and John Corbett in the top ten of the city’s visual art movers and shakers.