Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Jeremy Deller.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Jeremy Deller"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
English Magic: Jeremy Deller by
This book was published in conjunction with the exhibition held in Venice, British Pavilion at Giardini, June 1 - November 24, 2013. "'Magic,' the dictionary tells us, is 'the ability to influence the course of events through the use of mysterious or supernatural forces'; to add 'English' is to point to a native tradition of expert conjurers, from the druids of Stonehenge to sorcerers such as Merlin and Gandalf and beyond. At the same time Deller also intends 'English Magic' to evoke 'the mythical qualities of popular culture and its abilities to weave spells, especially in music.'"
All that is Solid Melts into Air by
In this volume, Jeremy Deller questions the effect of the Industrial Revolution on the British landscape and culture. He explores working-class musical culture, from nineteenth-century folk to glam and rock music in the 70s and 80s. This publication features a vast range of historical paintings, political tracts, poems and ballads, as well as new work by Deller.
On the Road Again with Jeremy Deller: Conversations About Iraq
This article discusses "It Is What It Is: Conversations About Iraq", a traveling project organized by artist Jeremy Deller. Starting at the New Museum in New York, Deller's project seeks to fill an alleged “information gap” between the U.S. public, its understanding of the Iraq war, and its grasp of the customs and traditions of Iraqi citizens. As such, it asks museum visitors to engage in discussions with selected participants, not only war veterans and journalists, but also Iraqi refugees, academics, writers, artists, and researchers living in the United States.