Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on El Anatsui.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "El Anatsui"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
El Anatsui: When I Last Wrote to You About Africa by
El Anatsui began his artistic career as a young artist in Ghana, where he built sculptures primarily from wood. He has continued to use wood throughout his practice, but as his art grew, so too did the range of his materials. Over three decades he has incorporated found metal and other media, infusing the work with references to personal, cultural, and global histories. At the Venice Biennale in 2007, El Anatsui stunned the world with two monumental sculptures made from thousands of liquor-bottle tops stretched between columns. This career retrospective includes a selection of the artist's most important objects, including ceramic, wood, and metal pieces as well as rare paintings, prints, and drawings that complement his sculpture.
El Anatsui: Art and Life by
Author Susan M. Vogel, who worked closely with Anatsui while directing a documentary film about the artist, offers a uniquely personal perspective on Anatsui and provides the first penetrating study of his artworks. This book traces his lifelong exploration of media leading up to the bottle top art form that has captured the interest of the global art world. It explores the artist's themes of loss, chaos, and decay, his Nigerian University intellectual community, and his creative studio practice. Vogel traces the intertwined threads of Anatsui's ideas, life, and art from his desire to express Africa's history to today's work that can be immense and ethereal.
El Anatsui at the Clark by
An illustrated essay by Alisa LaGamma provides a brief history of El Anatsui's career and an analysis of his practice. The catalogue also includes a conversation between noted artist and curator Chika Okeke-Agulu and Anatsui, as they discuss the themes of history, economy, sustainability, and identity explored within Anatsui's work. Photographs of the installations at the Clark provide a unique look at these immersive sculptures, including Intermittent Signals (2009) and Delta (2010), in the contemplative spaces of Stone Hill Center.
Convergence: History, Materials, and the Human Hand—An Interview with El Anatsui
During his 40-year career in the visual arts, El Anatsui has explored multiple media and processes, including chain saws, branding irons, milk-can tops, broken pots, and newspaper printers' plates. In recent years, Anatsui has created large “textile” pieces, sheets made from discarded liquor tops and sewn together into intricate patterns. In this interview. Anatsui addresses the origins of his interest in art, his decision to begin making art from recycled objects, and the presence of traditional African symbolism in his work.
El Anatsui: Transformations.
The work of Nigerian sculptor El Anatsui is focused on the transformation of material and the significance of this change in relation to local and global political and societal conditions, which is seen most particularly in his “cloth series.” Although his work is frequently interpreted principally in relation to cloth, it should be read in terms of a conceptual and historical space that provides a localized reading of his practice of incorporating locally procured materials.