Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Beverly Semmes.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Beverly Semmes"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
ArtWorks: the Progressive Collection by
This striking compendium presents a cross-section of the world-class collection put together by the Cleveland-based Progressive Corporation since the 1970s. The nearly 300 works gathered here were selected from more than 6,000 pieces in the Progressive Corporation's collection and serve to document a mission rather than catalogue an inventory. Does art work? This book is more than evidence. It's proof.
New Material as New Media: the Fabric Workshop and Museum by
A rich showcase of the use of experimental new materials in contemporary art, based on work produced over the past twenty-five years at The Fabric Workshop and Museum in Philadelphia. The Fabric Workshop and Museum, an experimental arts laboratory in Philadelphia, has evolved into an influential contemporary art museum with a significant permanent collection, collaborating with artists to redefine the boundaries of fabric and other innovative materials including rubber, industrial felt, fiberglass, horse hair, hog intestine, and plastic as artistic media. This book highlights more than fifty artists' projects.
Beverly Semmes: Fabric Workshop and Museum
“Watching Her Feat,” an exhibition of works by Beverly Semmes at the Fabric Workshop and Museum, Philadelphia, celebrated the self-absorption and childish impulses that feed so much of art-making today. The show was part sculptural installation and performance and part prerecorded video image.
Beverly Semmes: Art to the Nines
Explores the work of Beverly Semmes, who uses clothing as a metaphor and as a substitute for the body. The author traces Semmes's development as an artist since she graduated in 1987 and highlights a number of her current concerns. She examines the possible feminist interpretations of Semmes's works and concludes by noting her growing preoccupation with the relationship between her works and the space in which they are displayed.