Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Provenance Research Resources
Provenance is the history of ownership of items of value, usually works of art or books. A full provenance provides a documented history that can help prove ownership, assign the work to a known artist, and establish the authenticity of a work of art. The resources listed on this page may be helpful to researchers interested in conducting provenance research on works of art in past Carnegie Internationals, or those interested in museum collection and documentation processes.
Google News Archive
Google News Archive contains large portions of the The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and the Pittsburgh Press, as well as other national newspapers.
See this research guide to learn more about our newspaper resources at Pitt:
Books on Provenance Research
This book goes beyond the narrow definition of the term provenance, which addresses only the bare facts of ownership and transfer, to explore ideas about the origins and itineraries of objects, consider the historical uses of provenance research, and draw attention to the transformative power of ownership.
The AAM Guide to Provenance Research by
This guide is a comprehensive and authoritative resource for tracing the ownership history of works of art. Focused on cultural property looted by the Nazis and others during WWII, it is divided into three parts: Basic Provenance Research and Principles, Holocaust-Era Provenance Research, and Appendixes, which include bibliographies of collections, dealer archives, and "red flag names" compiled by the Office of Strategic Services. Includes an index and reproductions of artworks and relevant documents.
Art, Cultural Heritage and the Market by
In the age of economic globalisation, do art and heritage matter? Once the domain of elitist practitioners and scholars, the governance of cultural heritage and the destiny of iconic artefacts have emerged as the new frontier of international law, making headlines and attracting the varied interests of academics and policy-makers, museum curators and collectors, human rights activists and investment lawyers and artists and economists, just to mention a few. The return of cultural artefacts to their legitimate owners, the recovery of underwater cultural heritage and the protection and promotion of artistic expressions are just some of the pressing issues addressed by this book.
JSTOR is an online collection of academic journals in all fields.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century.
Art Index Retrospective
Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984. The database cites articles from 579 influental art publications throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.