Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Museum Studies Research - Oakland Campus: Finding Materials

Designed to assist students in Prof. Peters Museum Studies course

Subject Headings

Subject headings are a set of terms or phrases that classify materials.  To perform a subject search using one of the subject headings listed below, follow these steps:

  1. Go to www.library.pitt.edu homepage
  2. Click the PittCat Classic tab 
  3. Select Subject Heading from the dropdown menu
  4. Enter "Museums -- Collection Management " for example 
  5. Click Enter  

Subject Headings: 

Museums -- Collection Management 

Museums -- Educational Aspects 

Museums -- Periodicals 

Museums -- United States 

Museum Techniques

 

Database Searching

This section will provide examples of search terms to use when searching some key art databases that the library links to. For a more comprehensive list of all the Art and Architecture databases, click here.

Art Full Text: 1984-present

Search Terms: 

Museum Studies | Museum Education | Theft from Museums | Museum Techniques | Museum Studies Literature | Museum Curatorship Museum Acquisitions Collection Management (Museums) Museums -- Gifts, Legacies Modern Art Museums

Oxford Art Online

Search Terms: 

Exhibits | Museum of Modern Art, New York | Museology | Museums and Aesthetics | Museum of fine Arts, Boston | Exhibition 

ARTBibliographies Modern (ABM) 

Search Terms: 

Museum Studies | Museums and Galleries Theory | Alternative Spaces | Museum Education | Museum Curator | University Museum | Museum Visitor Studies | Museum Mission Statement | Museum Statistics

International Bibliography of Art: 2008-present

Search Terms: 

Museum Studies | Museum Culture | Eco Museum | Museum Architecture | Making of Modern Museum | American Museums | Museum Experience

 

 

 

Museum Collections on Artstor

Artstor has collections of over 2 million digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Images are international in scope and coverage includes a wide variety of civilizations, time-periods and media. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.