It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This paper provides a comparative historical perspective of how Australian museums have
exhibited stories of migration over the past three decades, with a focus on the use of objects. The pioneering of community access spaces, collecting of oral histories, innovative use of art-as-object and the development of theatrical recreations or props are all features of these exhibitions.
Filmed in 2011, David Altmejd discusses the head sculptures that he creates to accompany each new body of work. "Some sculptors make drawings, I make heads," says Altmejd. By using the same materials found in his larger works, he distills his larger ideas into compact form. Works in the film are shown at the artist's studio in Queens, and in his solo exhibition at Andrea Rosen Gallery in Manhattan.
Social Explorer is mainly an interactive map of demographic information drawn from the US Census. Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. Note: Creation of a Personal Account is required to fully access all Social Explorer features.
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.