Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Subject headings are a set of terms or phrases that classify materials. To perform a subject search using one of the subject headings listed below, follow these steps:
- Go to www.library.pitt.edu homepage
- Click the PittCat Classic tab
- Select Subject Heading from the dropdown menu
- Enter "Gender identity in art" for example
- Click Enter
Femininity in art
Gender identity in art
Homosexuality and art
Human figure in art.
Masculinity in art
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added.
Rebecca Warren by
Rebecca Warrens first monograph is chronological review of her career to date. Showing both key works and installation shots, (including the Turner Prize, Serpentine Gallery, the 54th Venice Biennale and numerous interntional solo exhibitions) her work is further contextualised with an essay by Bice Curiger, editor of Parkett. Warrens sculptures in clay, bronze and steel, ebb from figuration to abstraction, ranging from the amorphous to more clearly recognizable forms. Always evident in Warrens work is the negotiation between thought and process. Ideas and influences are filtered, distorted and often discarded as they find three-dimensional form. Her sculptures can be tender and droll, yet also aggressive in their depiction of the female form. Yet whilst she often manages to both invoke and skewer the work of familiar male artists such as Willem de Kooning, Alberto Giacometti and cartoonist R. Crumb, individually and collectively Warrens works form an entirely modern, complex and distinctive visual language.
Martin Puryear by
Over the last thirty years, Martin Puryear has created a body of work that defies categorization, creating sculpture that examines identity, culture and history. Departing from the impersonal and mechanical aesthetic of Minimalism, Puryears work combines modernist abstraction and the traditions of crafts and woodworking, in shapes informed by the natural and by ordinary objects, made with materials such as tar, wood, stone and wire. This book accompanies an exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art that follows Puryears development from his first solo show, in 1977, to new works that will be presented for the first time at the exhibition. With essays by John Elderfield, Michael Auping and Elizabeth Reede, and a conversation with the artist by Richard Powell, it will be essential reading for anyone interested in the artist.
The Bodies That Were Not Ours by
Interdisciplinary artist and writer Coco Fusco is one of North America's leading interpreters of intercultural theory and practice. This volume gathers together her finest writings since 1995 and includes critical essays by Jean Fisher and Caroline Vercoe that interpret her work. Engaging and provocative, these essays, interviews, performance scripts and fotonovelas take readers on a tour of our current multicultural landscape. Fusco explores such issues as sex tourism in Cuba as a barometer of the island's entry into the global economy, Frantz Fanon's theorization of metropolitan blackness, and artistic and net activist responses to the effects of free trade on the Mexican populace. She interviews such postcolonial personnae as Isaac Julien, Hilton Als and Tracey Moffatt. Approaching the dynamics of cultural fusion from many angles, Fusco's satires, commentaries, and sociological inquiries collapse boundaries, and form a sustained meditation on how the forces of globalization impact upon the making of art.
"Constructing Gender" (MoMA)
Explore info on artists who challenge gender identity in this educational resource by the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
Discover how artists mine the concept of identity—and often challenge it—in their work.
Write a list of search terms
- Before you begin searching create lists of keywords that describe your topic.
- Use a thesaurus to stimulate your word choice and to generate synonyms for the concept.
Use Subject Headings
Refine your search in PittCat+
- Refining your search to the Frick Fine Arts Library Location can be helpful if you want to make sure an item is located in this library.
Document your search
- Once you begin searching, document what is returned by your first query. Scan the summaries of these results for related terms that will help you refine your keywords.