Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
How do I Find Databases and Articles . .
If you're seeking articles on a topic, search an Article Database. Databases are collections of citations and articles that you can search by topic or subject.
The links below are good starting points for your searching, but the ULS offers hundreds of focused databases, and most offer links to the full text. To search a database, select the Databases tab on the ULS homepage:
- If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A-Z list.
- If you're not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject , or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3331 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.
Medical & Psychological Databases
News & Current Events Databases . .
databases are excellent starting points for your research because they
have something on every subject:
Other Suggested Databases
You can find lots of article databases at our Databases by Subject page. Here are a few you can start with:
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC database covers the study of communication, mass media and related subjects.
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national bibliographic database of education literature.
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more.
Covers all aspects of the human impact on the environment including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
LegalTrac offers indexing for all major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals and thousands of law-related articles from general interest publications.
PolicyFile covers all public policy issues on everything from trade with Asia to health care reform, from terrorism to intelligence reform, from Bosnia to Superfund.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts database is an index to articles and documents covering all aspects of social work and related fields.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts of the literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
These resources can help you with background information, as well as the resources at our Reference Resources page