Skip to main content

Literature Reviews: Subject Specialists

This guide is designed to offer guidance for completing a literature review, and will link you to resources, techniques, and advanced approaches to conducting and writing a literature review.

Consult a Subject Specialist

 

Subject

Primary Liaison

Office

Phone

Email

African Studies

Arif Jamal

172A Hillman Library

412- 648-7759

ajamal@pitt.edu

Africana Studies

Arif Jamal

172A Hillman Library

412- 648-7759

ajamal@pitt.edu

Altmetrics

Berenika Webster

271 Hillman Library

412-624-7209

bwebster@pitt.edu

Anthropology

Carlos Peña

B30 Music Building

412- 624-4128

cep13@pitt.edu

Architectural Studies Program (Art and Architecture History)

Kathryn Joranson

149 Frick Fine Arts Building

412- 648-2411

kmj19@pitt.edu

Bibliometrics

Berenika Webster

271 Hillman Library

412-624-7209

bwebster@pitt.edu

Bioethics and Health Law

Lance Lugar

Room 207 7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-8196

lugar@pitt.edu

Bioethics and Health Law

Margarete Bower

217 Langley Hall

412- 624-3714

bower@pitt.edu

Biological Sciences

Margarete Bower

217 Langley Hall

412- 624-3714

bower@pitt.edu

Bradford (Hanley Library)

Marietta Frank

107 Hanley Library

814- 362-7614

marietta@pitt.edu

Business

Chris Lemery

207 Hillman Library

412-648-3925

clemery@pitt.edu

Chemistry

Margarete Bower

217 Langley Hall

412- 624-3714

bower@pitt.edu

Children’s Literature

Clare Withers

207D Hillman Library

412-648-7704

cwithers@pitt.edu

Chinese Language and Literature

Haihui Zhang

422 Hillman Library

412- 624-5652

haihuiz@pitt.edu

Classics

Fern Brody

271 Hillman Library

412- 648-7710

feb@pitt.edu

Classics, Philosophy, and Ancient Science

Lance Lugar

Room 207 7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-8196

lugar@pitt.edu

College of General Studies

Leslie Poljak

207D Hillman Library

412-648-3901

l.poljak@pitt.edu

Communications

Patricia Sharp

207A Hillman Library

412- 648-7803

pls17@pitt.edu

Computer and information Science

Carrie Donovan

207H Hillman Library

412-648-4836

cdonovan@pitt.edu

Copyright & Intellectual Property

Lauren Collister

G-73 Hillman Library

412-648-3155

lbc8@pitt.edu

Cultural Studies

Clare Withers

207D Hillman Library

412-648-7704

cwithers@pitt.edu

Digital Humanities

Gesina Phillips

G-73 Hillman Library

412-648-4494

gap64@pitt.edu

Digital Scholarship

Gesina Phillips

G-73 Hillman Library

412-648-4494

gap64@pitt.edu

Economics

Lois Kepes

G-20X Hillman Library

412-648-7578

lois@pitt.edu

Education

Marnie Hampton

207H Hillman Library

412- 648-7770

hamptonm@pitt.edu

Engineering

Judy Brink

G33 Benedum Hall

412-624-0859

jbrink@pitt.edu

English

Robin Kear

207G Hillman Library

412- 648-7728

rlk25@pitt.edu

Entrepreneurship

LaMonica Wiggins

207K Hillman Library

412-648-4835

lmw129@pitt.edu

Environmental Studies

Aimee Sgourakis

207C Hillman Library

412- 648-7730

aimees@pitt.edu

European Union Center of Excellence and European Studies Center

Phil Wilkin

Room 341 7500 Thomas Boulevard

412- 648-7829

pwilkin@pitt.edu

Film Studies

Robin Kear

207G Hillman Library

412- 648-7728

rlk25@pitt.edu

French

Leslie Poljak

207D Hillman Library

412-648-3901

l.poljak@pitt.edu

Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

Robin Kear

207G Hillman Library

412- 648-7728

rlk25@pitt.edu

Geology and Environmental Science

Aimee Sgourakis

207C Hillman Library

412- 648-7730

aimees@pitt.edu

German

Dan Pennell

233 Hillman Library

412- 648-7791

pennell@pitt.edu

GIS & Spatial Data

Boris Michev

G-73 Hillman Library

412-383-4218

bom17@pitt.edu

Global Studies Center

Dan Pennell

233 Hillman Library

412- 648-7791

pennell@pitt.edu

Government Information

Chris Lemery

207A Hillman Library

412- 648-3925

clemery@pitt.edu

Graduate School of Public and International Affairs

Lois Kepes

G20X Hillman Library

412-648-7578

lois@pitt.edu

Greensburg (Millstein Library)

Eve Wider

141 Millstein Library

724-836-9688

ewider@pitt.edu

Hispanic Languages and Literatures

Martha Mantilla

171 Hillman Library

412- 648-7734

martham@pitt.edu

History

Chris Lemery

207E Hillman Library

412- 648-3925

clemery@pitt.edu

History and Philosophy of Science

Lance Lugar

Room 207 7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-8196

lugar@pitt.edu

History of Art and Architecture

Kathryn Joranson

149 Frick Fine Arts Building

412- 648-2411

kmj19@pitt.edu

Honors College

Patricia Sharp

207A Hillman Library

412- 648-7803

pls17@pitt.edu

Humanities Data

Tyrica Terry Kapral

G-73 Hillman Library

412-648-5908

tyt3@pitt.edu

Information Sciences

Marian Hampton

207H Hillman Library

412- 648-7770

hamptonm@pitt.edu

Intelligent Systems Program

Marnie Hampton

207H Hillman Library

412- 648-7770

hamptonm@pitt.edu

Italian

Leslie Poljak

207D Hillman Library

412-648-3901

l.poljak@pitt.edu

Japanese Language and Literature

Hiroyuki Good

421 Hillman Library

412- 648-8187

hng2@pitt.edu

Jewish Studies

Eve Wider

141 Millstein Library

724-836-9688

ewider@pitt.edu

Johnstown (Owen Library)

Peter Egler

112 Owen Library

814- 269-7288

pegler@pitt.edu

Korean Studies

Hiroyuki Good

207J Hillman Library

412-648-8187

hng2@pitt.edu

Latin American Studies

Martha Mantilla

171 Hillman Library

412- 648-7734

martham@pitt.edu

Linguistics

Patricia Sharp

207A Hillman Library

412- 648-7803

pls17@pitt.edu

Mathematics

Judy Brink

G33 Benedum Hall

412-624-0859

jbrink@pitt.edu

Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program

Clare Withers

207D Hillman Library

412-648-7704

cwithers@pitt.edu

Metadata

Mike Bolam

Room 326 7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-8113

mrbst20@pitt.edu

Music

James Cassaro

B30 Music Building

412- 624-4131

cassaro@pitt.edu

Neuroscience

Margarete Bower

217 Langley Hall

412- 624-3714

bower@pitt.edu

Philosophy

Lance Lugar

Room 207 7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-8196

lugar@pitt.edu

Physics and Astronomy

Judy Brink

G33 Benedum Hall

412-624-0859

jbrink@pitt.edu

Pittsburgh History

David Grinnell

Room 221 7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-3243

grinnell@pitt.edu

Political Science

Chris Lemery

207E Hillman Library

412- 648-3925

clemery@pitt.edu

Psychology

Aimee Sgourakis

207C Hillman Library

412-648-7730

aimees@pitt.edu

Religious Studies

Chris Lemery

207 Hillman Library

412-648-3925

clemery@pitt.edu

Research Data Management

Research Evaluation

Berenika Webster

271 Hillman Library

412-624-7209

bwebster@pitt.edu

Russian and East European Studies

Dan Pennell

233 Hillman Library

412- 648-7791

pennell@pitt.edu

Slavic Languages and Literatures

Dan Pennell

233 Hillman Library

412- 648-7791

pennell@pitt.edu

Social Work

Arif Jamal

172A Hillman Library

412- 648-7759

ajamal@pitt.edu

Sociology

Aimee Sgourakis

207C Hillman Library

412-648-7730

aimees@pitt.edu

Statistics

Judy Brink

G33 Benedum Hall

412-624-0859

jbrink@pitt.edu

Studio Arts

Kathryn Joranson

149 Frick Fine Arts Building

412- 648-2411

kmj19@pitt.edu

Theatre Arts

Bill Daw

Room 207 7500 Thomas Boulevard

412- 648-8195

wcdst3@pitt.edu

Titusville (Haskell Memorial Library)

Marc Ross

Office #108 Haskell Library

814-827-4452

marcross@pitt.edu

University Center for Social and Urban Research

Boris Michev

G-73 Hillman Library

412-383-4218

bom17@pitt.edu

University History

Zach Brodt

7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-3164

zlb2@pitt.edu

Urban Studies

Boris Michev

G-73 Hillman Library

412-383-4218

bom17@pitt.edu