Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Writing About Music -- Johnstown Campus: Home

Music 0425 Writing About Music.

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs

Writing about Music

Music 0425 Writing about Music, taught by Jeffrey Webb, focuses on how to write critical and analytical papers on the subject of music. Students are expected to learn musical terminology and how to use that terminology in a paper.  Owen Library and the University Library System have many resources to aid you in this course.

About writing

Request Material in PittCat

You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in and then click on the item you need. Options within the item:

If you have any questions about this, please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

Owen Library

Printed Resources on Music at Owen Library

Many reference books, most journals, and increasing numbersof general books are available through Pittcat on-line.

Owen Library and other ULS libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System. Printed books on music use the call numbers beginning  M to MT.

Printed Reference books can be found on the First (Main)  floor, they do not circulate outside of the Library. 

The video and audio collections are also on the First floor. Videos and CD's may be used in the First floor Media Room by students.

General collection books on music can be checked out and are shelved on the Second floor.  The Oversize collection which includes some musical scores is also on the Second floor and that material can be checked out as well. Some elementary and secondary text books on music may be found in the Second floor Curriculum Room as well as juvenile literature on musical topics. These also circulate.

The Ground floor of the library building does not house any Library collections or departments, but contains the Academic Success Center, the Information Technology Dept., and other University offices.

For more information "Tips" see the Owen Library guide.