Skip to main content

Writing About Music -- Johnstown Campus: EndNote Web

Music 0425 Writing About Music.

EndNote

EndNote is a popular reference management program. You can use it to save and organize your references, insert and format citations and bibliographies, and to search library databases.

Downloading EndNote Desktop
EndNote X6 is available to Pitt students and faculty for free through the Software Download Service at My Pitt. The site gives detailed instructions on the download process.

EndNote Web is the online component of EndNote. All Pitt students and faculty have access to EndNote Web through Pitt's subscription to the Web of Knowledge database. You can sign up for an account at myendnoteweb.com. For verification purposes, you have to do this from a computer on the Pitt network, using your Pitt email address.

EndNote Web

EndNote Web is the online component of EndNote. All Pitt students and faculty have access to EndNote Web through Pitt's subscription to the Web of Knowledge database. You can sign up for an account at myendnoteweb.com. For verification purposes, you have to do this from a computer on the Pitt network, using your Pitt email address.

With EndNote Web you can access your collection of references from any computer with Internet access. You can also search databases from it, and export references from library databases to it, and import saved references. You can sync your desktop Endnote collection and your EndNote Web collection. EndNote Web also has a Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in, so you don't have to be tied to one computer when writing a research paper.

EndNote Web Overview

This video gives an overview of EndNote Web. Other helpful tutorials are:

If you prefer text rather than video, EndNote Web also has an online guide.

Guide for Endnote

Find out more information on using Endnote in the accompanying guide.