Skip to main content

Writing About Music -- Johnstown Campus: Audio / Visual Materials

Music 0425 Writing About Music.

Opera in Video

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. Opera in Video is available as an individual database, or as part of the federated Music Online interface.

American History in Video

Primarily a history database of historical documentaries, archival footage and government newsreels, American History in Video includes videos on American musical culture  such as  the PBS series "Ken Burns Jazz ",  documentaries on Marian Anderson, Jimi Hendrix, 1968 Monterrey Pop Festival, 1960's culture and more.

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online is a streaming video database which includes footage from all over the world, representing hundreds of unique cultures. As it contains some musical content, this database can be useful in the study of world music and other ethnomusicological topics.

Video from Music Online

Videos of muscial performances, documentaries on music, topics ranging  from Les Paul to Mozart are available on Music online,  This video is a concert perfomance by the Venezuelan Brass Ensemble of  Leonard Bernstein's "Mambo" from the Symphonic Dances from West Side Story.

Music Online

Music Online is a suite of databases offering full length streaming recordings of music in a variety of genres. Music Online also contains videos of musical performances and documentaries.

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)

DRAM's primary focus is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. The touchstone of the collection is the diverse catalogue of American music represented by the New World and CRI record labels. DRAM provides access to music that is largely underrepresented in the Music Online databases, especially contemporary/modern composition and improvisation. In addition to the sound recordings, DRAM includes all the liner notes and essays that originally accompanied the recordings.

American Memory (Library of Congress)

The open access site American Memory from the Library of Congress inculdes historical recordings, sheet music and song sheets.