Skip to main content

Writing About Music -- Johnstown Campus: Databases

Music 0425 Writing About Music.

Music Databases

Music Resources available through ULS databases can be found at this lInk to Databases by Subject.

Instructional Tutorials @ ULS

Each ULS tutorial introduces and teaches an information seeking concept or skill. In order to view and use these tutorials, users should download Adobe Shockwave Player 7 or later. The tutorials are best viewed using speakers or headphones.

Using subject databases

Although it is possible to find scholarly journal articles through PITTCat+ searches, it is often more efficient to pick a subject specific database for your research.  Databases allow you to readily  customize your searches to retrieve journal articles.  You can often limit your search to Academic (peer reviewed) Journals which is likely to be a criteria for your research assignments.  Most journals that the ULS subscribes to are on-line.

What is Scholarly Information?

Instructors often ask students to find “scholarly”, “academic”, or “peer reviewed” sources of information for their research.  These terms all refer to the same type of information – sources based on in-depth research, and are considered higher in quality and more reliable for your research. These sources can range from chapters within books or entire books, or journal articles, but all have common characteristics that can help you recognize that type of information.

Scholarly

  • Written for professors, students or researchers.
  • Have a plain appearance and titles may include words like "Journal," "Transactions," or "Quarterly”.
  • Articles are reviewed by a board of experts or "peer reviewed."
  • Follow a standard format: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, possibly footnotes, endnotes and/or bibliography.
  • May include tables, graphs or illustrations to support research.
  • Very little advertising.

General Purpose (Popular)

  • May have a bright cover with many glossy pictures.
  • Designed to attract a broad segment of the population.
  • No specific format.
  • Articles sometimes unsigned.
  • General editors of the magazine review articles.
  • May include tables, graphs or illustrations.
  • Lots of advertising.

Trade/Professional publications

  • May have a bright cover.
  • Provide information of use to a particular industry.
  • No specific format.
  • Articles sometimes unsigned.
  • General editors of the magazine review articles.
  • Advertising is used to appeal to those in the field.

Owen Library

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs