Skip to main content

Writing About Music -- Johnstown Campus: Searching PITTCat+

Music 0425 Writing About Music.

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Can't Find It?

If we do not have a particular book, article or other resource in our collection, you can borrow it from another campus or local, national or worldwide library through our free interlibrary loan services.

PITTCat+

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

 

PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

Searching PITTCat+

Enter your search terms and click on the Search Library button. PITTCat+ will offer correct spellings, and search for variations of our search terms. 

The Result List will include articles, books, e-materials, and images. Click on the title of an item for more detailed information about the item, such as an abstract or the shelf location for a book. If full-text content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the full-text icon to the left of the item. 

You can Refine Your Results by using the options on the left. Narrow your results to items in the catalog, a specific campus, format, publication date, limiting to scholarly information, and more.

If Full-Text Content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the full-text icon to the left of the item.

video insertion

Owen Library

Searching Techniques

Combining Search Terms  - You can craft complex searches using Boolean operators AND, OR, and  NOT. These operators must be written in ALL CAPS.  The PITTCat+ searching default is the AND operator.

Phrase Searching - PITTCat+ allows for phrase searching with the use of “  “. For example, the search "pittsburgh renaissance" will find items with the phrase pittsburgh renaissance in them.

Wildcard and TrucationYou can use wildcard (*) and truncation (?) symbols to search PITTCat+.