Skip to main content

19th Century English Literature - Oakland Campus: Primary Sources

This online guide was created to support students reading and research in ENGLIT 1175 19th Century English Literature.

Primary Sources Online

Archives, libraries, and museums continue to digitize and transcribe their collections of primary source materials and make them freely accessible online. Surrogates of original primary source materials may be considered equal substitutes for the originals; however, it is best to always evaluate a reproduction for credibility.

Primary Source Databases

Search the library's many databases & digital collections to find primary source materials on your topic, including:

    Google News Archive

    Looking for full text or archives of newspapers? 

    Try Google News Archive at news.google.com/newspapers.   

    Tools for Finding Primary Sources

      Reference & Other Print Sources.  Search PITTCat+ to find primary source materials at ULS libraries.  Make use of the many excellent print resources that are available to find primary source materials.  These include:

      • Bibliographies
      • Film, Literature, and Periodical Indexes
      • Biographical Resources
      • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
      • Secondary Sources (search the text, footnotes, and bibliographies for references to primary sources used)

      Internet Search Engines

      • Use the Internet to find primary source materials by adding primary source specific terms (see Searching PITTCat+) to a Search Engine search. For example, "Civil War + Pennsylvania soldiers + diaries."