Skip to main content

Microforms, Government Documents, and Maps @ Pitt: Microforms Collections

This is a guide for finding and using the microform, government document, and map collections located in Hillman Library.

Mircroforms Holdings

Due to the large number of items in our microforms collection, we haven't been able to fully catalog it. The documents below list titles available in our collections but which do not appear in PITTCat. Please email our microforms team for assistance. 

Newspaper Resources

Newspapers @ Pitt

A guide to finding major, historical, and foreign language newspapers available through the University Library System.

Pittsburgh and Regional Newspapers

A guide to the local newspaper holdings of Hillman Library.

Popular Collections

Papers of the NAACP on Microfilm

As the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization, the NAACP produced papers documenting a century of civil rights activism. The University Library System's collection of Papers of the NAACP contains several sections, including, but not limited to, personal correspondence, staff files, and campaign information. 

Opie Microfiche Collection

The Opie microfiche is a collection of children's literature began by Peter and Iona Opie in 1944. Over the next forty-four years the collection grew to nearly 20,000 titles, including chapbooks, battledores (two or three-page primers), card-covered toy books, comics, children's magazines, penny dreadfuls and bound volumes. Some titles are individually cataloged. 

Adams Family Papers

The Adams Family Papers are a comprehensive collection of family papers spanning the years 1639 to 1889. The papers consist of official records and writings of three generations of Adamses, including the papers of John and Abigail, John Quincy, Charles Francis, and their extended families. The papers provide a unique view of major historical events from before the Revolution to the end of the 19th century.

Underground Newspaper Collection

Spanning 476 reels of film, the Underground Newspaper Collection is a compilation of hundreds of alternative publications produced from 1963-1985. A major example of sixties and seventies counterculture, the collection contains various newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and bulletins concentrating on a variety of topics ranging from Vietnam War protests to vegetarianism.