Islamic Studies extends from the 7th century to the present and across broad geographical areas of the world. It includes the history and cultures of Muslim majority countries from Morocco to Indonesia as well as Muslim minorities living in Europe and the United States. It encompasses many languages, literatures, and disciplines, including geometry, law, economics, music, and architecture. Image of Islamic Art by Alex Proimos at en.wikipedia [Public domain], from Wikipedia Commons
Google Scholar is often helpful for finding scholarly articles on your topic.
If you are on-campus, you will be able to view articles located in databases leased by the university. If you are off-campus, you may need to access the articles through remote access. See the instructions for connecting from off-campus on the ULS homepage.
1. Oxford Online features several Islamic Studies products. The Oxford Islamic Studies Online database is part of the Oxford Bibliographies Online databases, which offer exclusive, authoritative research guides of Islamic Studies topics as well as other area studies and international relations topics. These research guides / bibliographies provide introductions to each topic area, and including guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.
2. Encompassing over 5,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.
The current core content titles include the following:
The Middle East is home to many religions, including three of the world's major religions: Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. These three religions have figured greatly into many historic events as well as the daily affairs of the countries within the Middle East. The following databases will aid in the search for information about Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.
Use these quick links to access lists of related databases, the listing of e-journals, or to access library services from off-campus.