Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Financial ratios, such as earnings per share, are figured by comparing two different elements of a company's financial statement.
You can determine a company's performance and strength within an industry if you compare that company's ratios with those of the industry.
Each of the resources provided here will cover different industries, include different companies in those industries, provide different data and ratios, and present the results differently. Using multiple resources will help you determine which one best meets your needs.
The accompanying image is from IBIS World and provides industry financials for the US car and automobile industry.
Mergent's Key Business Ratios (KBR)
1. Once in the database, stay on the Reports tab, and select your industry using the provided SIC or Line of Business options, or type in a NAICS code.
1. Search for an industry in the search box in the middle of the page
2. Once in the report, select the Key Statistics tab for industry ratios and other data.
1. Once in the database, search for your industry by keyword or code
2. Once in the appropriate industry profile, navigate to the Financial Information section (either by scrolling through the report, or using the navigation menu on the left).
Formerly Academic Lexis-Nexis, this provides industry financials and ratios along with related content. It is based on SIC codes (look them up here
). Ratios are only available for 4-digit codes.
1. In Nexis Uni
, select the Business topic area (bottom left)
2. Select the Company Dossier
(opens in a new tab or window)
3. Select the Industry
4. Search for the industry by SIC code
. or, use the Browse Industry Hierarchy
5. Use the options in the left side box to navigate through the Industry information.
If you want to generate industry ratios for a customized list of companies:
1. Search for an initial company to get started in the search box on the left of the database's homepage
2. Once in the company's report go to blue Competitors tab
3. Make any changes to the competitors list using the Remove column or the search box above the table to add companies
4. Once happy with the list, click the Add all to Company Analysis List on the top right of the table
5. Under the My Mergent Tools box, select Company Analysis List to generate the report
6. In the new window that opens, first select the Company Comparison Report link at the top of the window
7. Then, in the first section called Company Listing, move all companies from the list box on the left to the report box on the right using the >> button
8. In the second section called Report Item Selection, select the + icon next to Ratios and select whatever ratios you want to include in the report, using the > button to move them to the box on the left
9. Be sure to check the box labelled Include Average and select the years you want included
10. At the bottom of the window, Select a Format from the drop-down menu, and then click Create Report
CFRA MarketScope Advisor provides access to extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, up-to-date news and data on a broad range of asset classes. It includes Stock and Fund Reports and Industry Surveys (formerly called S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys).
Industry Statistics and financial ratios
Census Quarterly Financial Report
Estimates of industry financials, including selected financial and operating ratios (i.e. ROA, ROE). Data for thirty-four, primarily manufacturing, industries.
Current Industrial Reports
The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity, including data on production and shipments of selected products
A free resource that covers more than 400 industries. For each industry, it includes overviews, key issues, trends and the industry's outlook as well as financial bench marking, compensation surveys and valuation resources.
Standard & Poor's Industry Scorecard (PDF)
Standard & Poor’s Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS) is an industry taxonomy developed for use by the global financial community.This PDF includes financials for the 10 sectors, 24 industry groups, 68 industries and 154 sub-industries into which S&P has categorized all major public companies.
Yahoo Industry Center
Yahoo Industry Center has abrowsable Industry Index where you can find financial market data by industry, compare performance of top companies within an industry, and find news and top-ranked analysts.