Skip to main content

Introduction to Dramatic Art: THEA 0810 - Oakland Campus: PITTCat+

This guide is designed to support student research for Vivian Appler's Introduction to Dramatic Art class.

Can't Find It?

If we do not have a particular book, article or other resource in our collection, you can borrow it from another campus or local, national or worldwide library through our free interlibrary loan services.

PITTCat+

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

 

PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Searching PITTCat+

Enter your search terms and click on the Search Library button. PITTCat+ will offer correct spellings, and search for variations of our search terms. 

The Result List will include articles, books, e-materials, and images. Click on the title of an item for more detailed information about the item, such as an abstract or the shelf location for a book. If full-text content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "full text online" link. 

You can Refine Your Results by using the options on the left. Narrow your results to items in the catalog, a specific campus, format, publication date, limiting to scholarly information, and more.

If Full-Text Content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "full text online" link.

 

PITTCat+ Searching Tips

Keyword/Subject Subdivisions

Adding subdivisions to a PITTCat+ search will help you to locate primary source materials. For example, if you need primary sources on the Holocaust, perform a keyword search by entering the terms "Holocaust survivors interviews." Other subdivision terms that can be used to locate primary sources are:

  • sources
  • archives
  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • notebooks
  • personal narratives
  • speeches
  • fiction
  • reports
  • pictorial works
  • songs and music
  • cases
  • case study

Restricting by Date of Publication or Format

Limiting sources to a particular date of publication will help you to locate contemporary sources published at the time of an event. For example, if you are studying British Literature during WWII, refine your search results by using the publication date limiters on the right to retrieve novels published only during the years 1939 to 1945.

Limit a search by format

Select archives/manuscripts, map, videos and dvds, photos and images, music, or music scores from the format list on the left as appropriate to your need.