Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Materials & Methods for Theatre Research - Oakland Campus: Curtis Collection

This is an online guide to resources for Prof. McConachie's THEA 2201: Materials & Methods for Theatre Research

About Us

The Curtis Theatre Collection is a rich collection of primary theatre sources.  Find out more at the link below:

Curtis Collection's Archival Collections

The Curtis Collection currently contains over 60 archival record collections.  We have collection guides online for 50 of the collections.  Nearly all of these collections are related to the history of the performing arts in Pittsburgh.  All of our archival materials are accessible through their collection guide.  Each collection's guide is available in both the Special Collections Department reading room or through the on-line database of archival collections in the University of Pittsburgh Library System.

Please see the following handout which contains summaries of each of our archival holdings, with links to each collection's guide.

Curtis Theatre Collection

The Ford E. and Harriet R. Curtis Theatre Collection is a veritable treasure trove for theatre scholars as well as theatre buffs.  The collection consists of several thousand volumes of playscripts, acting editions, histories, and critical works of the theatre and drama, nearly 500,000 theatre programs, plus periodicals, posters, ephemera, rare scrapbooks and over 20,000 photographs.  In addition, the Curtis Collection houses archival records of several local theatrical organizations, and the personal papers of individuals in Pittsburgh performing arts scene.  The Curtis Theatre Collection is the primary source for Pittsburgh theatre history.  With local materials dating back to the 1840's, we are committed to the documentation of Pittsburgh's rich theatrical life.

Nixon Theatre (Sixth Avenue and William Penn Place), April 1950

 

Collection Location & Hours

The Ford E. and Harriet R. Curtis Theatre Collection is a part of Archives & Special Collections and is accessible through the reading room in Hillman Library or at the Archives Service Center reading room in Point Breeze. Both reading room's regular hours are Monday-Friday, 9am-4:45pm.

Archives & Special Collections

Send Us an Email

Hours | Staff | Directions

Search and Browse

A finding aid will provide you with background information and an inventory of the records found within our archival collections, including those in the Archives Service Center and the Center for American Music. See our Guide to Using the Special Collections for information on how to use our collection guides.

Browse Our Collections