Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Women in Early Photography
Photography History & Movements Research
Subject headings are a set of terms or phrases that classify materials. To perform a subject search using one of the subject headings listed below, follow these steps:
- Go to www.library.pitt.edu homepage
- Click the PittCat Classic tab
- Select Subject Heading from the dropdown menu
- Enter "Photography -- History" for example
- Click Enter
- Photography, Artistic--History
- Photography--Early Works to 1850
- Pictorialism (Photography Movement)--United States
If any of the subject headings in PittCat do not contain enough resources to look through for your research, try plugging the subject heading into Worldcat and then requesting materials you find through Interlibrary Loan.
Databases that would be most helpful in doing research on aspects of the history of photography and different movements associated with photography include the following:
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature.
JSTOR is an online collection of academic journals in all fields.
Photography Groups and Movements
Historic Photography Journals & Magazines