Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Historic Pittsburgh, one digital collection in D-Scribe, is a comprehensive collection of local resources that supports personal and scholarly research of the western Pennsylvania area.
This collection has access to historic material held by many different cultural heritage institutions in Pittsburgh, including Pitt’s Archives Service Center.
Historic Pittsburgh Image Collections
The Historic Pittsburgh Image Collections contain over 23,000 images from over 50 photographic collections held by various local cultural heritage institutions in Pittsburgh.
The images visually document the Pittsburgh region's culture, education, social, infrastructure, and industry development.
Finding Local Sources
Allegheny County Department of Human Services (DHS)
DHS is responsible for providing and administering publicly-funded human services to Allegheny County residents. DHS is dedicated to meeting these human services needs, most particularly for the county's most vulnerable populations, through an extensive range of information exchange, prevention, early intervention, case management, crisis intervention and after-care services.
The Birmingham Foundation
The Birmingham Foundation is a private (independent) community-focused foundation dedicated to health-related and human services grantmaking in South Pittsburgh.
HumanServices.net is a gateway to an "Information Commons" -- a distributed database that brings together a wide range of information and data types into a single, easily searchable repository. The site contains detailed profiles of services from daycare centers and drug and alcohol assistance to clinics and food banks, along with photographs, maps, directions, and even the nearest bus routes.
United Way of Allegheny County
United Way of Allegheny County is a change agent and efficient community fundraiser that improves lives by addressing critical community needs. By convening diverse partners and investing in programs and people to advance solutions, United Way creates long-lasting change and helps children and youth succeed, strengthens and supports families by promoting financial stability, ensures the safety and well-being of vulnerable seniors, and provides county-wide access to information and referral sourc
Center on Race & Social Problems
University of Pittsburgh's School of Social Work