Finding Articles - English Composition 1 and 2 - Greensburg Campus

PittCat

PittCat is the main searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library System (ULS), including articles, books, ebooks, journal articles, ejournals, audio and video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

PittCat
Access PittCat directly or use the ULS homepage.

Getting Started: Databases

Listed below are multidisciplinary databases, covering a wide range of topics, that you can used to get started. (JSTOR does not include magazines or newspapers.)

Printing articles on campus? See the student instructions under "Printing Services" near the bottom of the campus technology web page for instructions on using mobile print stations and locations for other printers on campus.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use this database for news-related sources, such as newspaper articles.
National Newspapers (Current) (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides current full text access to some popular publications like Christian Science Monitor and the New York Times.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. This is an EBSCOHost database.

Lists of Magazines
Scroll down to view a list of magazines if you need to find non-scholarly sources. You can look in PittCat - click on Journal Finder and type the title in - to find databases that hold that publication.
All Newspaper Databases

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 6,000 current newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries and about 60 languages. Content is discoverable by searching publication name, subject, country or language preference. Fully-formatted publications and stories appear just as they do in print. The database archives content for up to 90 days.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.

Subject-specific Databases

Sometimes you won't be able to get everything you need from a multidisciplinary database and need something more specific. Pitt offers many subject-specific databases that you can use. A few popular choices are listed below.

America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use this for topics related to American history. JSTOR is also good for historical topics.
ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Congressional (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
govinfo This link opens in a new window
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Use this for topics related to literature. Also useful for some historical topics.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window

Library Databases
This link takes you to a list of all databases that you can filter by subject and type, or browse alphabetically.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

English Composition 1 and 2 - Greensburg Campus

Contact a Librarian

Need research help? We'll meet with you!

What on earth is a library database?!

PittCat

Getting Started: Databases

Subject-specific Databases