Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Selected Catalogs of Gazetters
All of these catalogs listed below are located at Reference section of East Asian Library on the second floor of Hillman Library.
Call Number: EAREF Z3106 C5927 1985
*An important union catalog for 8,200 local gazetteers compiled/published before 1949 and held by 190 libraries and institutes in mainland China.
*Information under each entry includes title, number of juan (卷), author, edition, and holding.
A list of institute codes is placed at the beginning of the catalog.
*Two major functions:
- To provide basic information of Chinese old local gazetteers
- To provide holding information.
Call Number: EAREF DS705 C485 1996
*An annotated bibliography of Chinese local gazetteers. It includes 8,500 gazetteers compiled/published before 1949.
*An abstract is provided for each title.
*Information included in an abstract includes the title, number of juan (卷), author and edition. Author’s biographical information, different editions, contents and book value are discussed in the abstract.
Call Number: EAREF Z3109 .W36 1985
*A union catalog for more than 4,600 local gazetteers held by twelve libraries or institutes in Taiwan.
*Original and reprinted editions (some microfilms) are listed.
*Information under each entry includes title, number of juan (卷), author, edition and holding.
Call Number: EAREF Z3106 C5683
*A catalog for local gazetteers compiled from 1949 to 1992.
*Includes 9,500 local gazetteers in various administrative levels and some subject gazetteers. Restrict publications also included.
*Information under each entry includes title, other title, compiler, publishing information, note, etc.
*A list of local gazetteers published in Taiwan is attached at the end.
Call Number: EAREF DS737 C482 1999
*A catalog for local gazetteers compiled from the end of 70s to 1999.
*Information under each entry includes title, other title, compiler, publishing information, ISBN, etc.
Call Number: EAREF DS737.Z55725 2006
* A catalog for 1,173 local gazetteers published from 1949 to 2004
* It is an annotated catalog.