Skip to main content

Course & Subject Guides

Critical Theory - Oakland Campus: Bibliographies

A guide to finding critical theory materials in the University Library System.

Bibliographies on critical theory and its schools

The following sources cite books, articles, or both on critical theory and its schools. Although the first three are dated, they list key materials published during the ‘80s and ‘90s, when much new and influential work was being done in the field.

Searching for critical schools or theorists in PittCat

Bibliographies can be great time-savers in supplying a listing of materials on a subject you are investigating. When using bibliographies, though, remember that the materials cited in a bibliography will only be as recent as the bibliography’s date of publication. In the case of older bibliographies, you’ll most likely want to supplement them by searching PittCat and consulting recent years of specific online databases or print indexes for more recent materials on your topic.

To find any bibliographies of materials about a particular critical school or approach available in the ULS, try searching PittCat by entering its Library of Congress subject heading followed by the subdivision BIBLIOGRAPHY.

Examples:

FEMINIST LITERARY CRITICISM BIBLIOGRAPHY

STRUCTURALISM BIBLIOGRAPHY

To find any available bibliographies of materials by and/or about a particular theorist, try searching PittCat by entering his or her name as a subject heading. Then scroll down for the subdivision BIBLIOGRAPHY.

Examples:

 

LACAN, JACQUES BIBLIOGRAPHY

BENJAMIN, WALTER BIBLIOGRAPHY