Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff Development Program - Oakland Campus: Articles

From Information to Insight: this hands-on course for the Faculty and Staff Development Program (FSDP) from Human Resources will introduce users to our library system's resources and services.

Suggested Databases

These databases are excellent starting points for your research because they have something on every subject:

Millions of Articles at ULS

 

The ULS has nearly 80,000 periodical subscriptions, including massive print and electronic journal runs, historic runs of many titles on microfilm and microfiche, and a great collection of world newspapers. 

 

 

 

How do I Find Articles . .

If you’re looking for articles on a topic, search an Article Database.

Databases are collections of articles that you can search by topic or subject.  Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.   

  • If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A-Z list. 
  • If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3330 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.

If you have a citation to an article, search PITTCat+.

PITTCat+ will list all the journals we subscribe to either online or in paper.  If the journal is online, the PITTCat+ record will offer a link directly to the journal database.   If the ULS doesn’t subscribe to the journal online, PITTCat+ will list any paper volumes and issues we have of that journal.

You can also use the Citation Linker to see if the article you are searching for is available online. 

If you’re off-campus try the E-journal search

You can search by the journal title to find out if we have a particular journal online.   Remember  that not all journals or issues of journals are available online.  To see if we have a journal either online or in paper, search PittCat+ for the journal title.

If we don’t have the journal or article you need, request the article for free through Interlibrary Loan.

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Pitt Passport Login Image

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.