Here is a listing of databases that contain electronic foreign language newspapers collections available at Pitt. Hillman Library in Oakland does receive many current foreign language newspapers in print.
Yomidas Rekishikan is a full text database of the Yomiuri Shinbum, the largest newspaper in Japan, from the inaugural issue in 1874 to present. The database also includes the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present).
Kikuzo II Bijuaru is a full text database of Asahi Shinbun, one of the two major newspapers in Japan, from the inaugural issue in 1879 to present. This database also includes Shûkan Asahi (from April 2000 to present), AERA (from May 1988, inaugural issue to present), Chiezo (latest issue) and Asahi Shinbun Jinbutsu (Who’s who) Database.
Full text of over 40 Latin American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin American regional topics. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal, Mexico City's largest-selling newspaper; O Globo (Brazil); La Nación(Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile). Three business titles, El Economista (Mexico), Valor Economico (Brazil), and Portafolio(Colombia) are also important resources for researchers.
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.
The National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals (NICNP) is a product of Shanghai Library. The University of Pittsburgh's subscription allows patrons to search Chinese newspaper and periodical published from 1833 to1949.
[Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
To search for foreign language news sources (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese), when you are on the main search screen:
1. Select Advanced Search
2. Select a Specific Content Type
3. Choose News
4. Select Language
Need Help? Chat with us!
For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs