Skip to main content

History of Jazz - Oakland Campus: Finding Articles

This LibGuide is designed to help students taking the History of Jazz course (Music 0711) find resources related to the course.

Journals

Here are some electronic journals that you may find useful in researching the history of jazz. Click on the "I" in the blue circle to get more information about each one. Also check out our Print Resources tab for older issues of these journals that may be available in print, rather than electronic, form.

Streaming Music Databases

The links below will take you to legal streaming music databases.

You can send links to many recordings directly to your mobile device, and you can create playlists in the database to save songs you want to listen to further.

Tips for Searching Databases

Here are some search tips that work in most databases. You can find additional tips on the search page of the database you choose.

  • Put specific terms you're searching in quotation marks. For example, "Kansas City blues" will search only for that phrase.
  • Use "AND" (either by typing it into the search bar or selecting it from a drop-down menu between search fields) to broaden your results. For example, history AND jazz AND 1920s.
  • Use "OR" (either by typing it into the search bar or selecting it from a drop-down menu between search fields) to broaden your results. For example, jazz OR blues.
  • Use "*" to shorten your search term and search for multiple forms of the word. For example, record* will search for records and recordings.
  • Some databases give you the option to search for terms similar to the ones you entered. Selecting this option will gve you additional results.

Databases

These databases search multiple resources for the search terms you enter. This is a great way to get started on your research.

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Pitt Passport Login Image

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.