Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Nationality Rooms Resources - Oakland Campus: Finding Library Resources

Resources for the public to use in researching Pitt's Nationality Rooms in the Cathedral of Learning, Oakland.

How do I Find Articles . .

If you’re looking for articles on a topic, search an Article Database.

Databases are collections of articles that you can search by topic or subject. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.   

  • If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A-Z list. 
  • If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3331 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.

If you have a citation to an article, search PITTCat+.

PITTCat+ will list all the journals we subscribe to either online or in paper.  If the journal is online, the PITTCat+ record will offer a link directly to the journal database. If the ULS doesn’t subscribe to the journal online, PITTCat+ will list any paper volumes and issues we have of that journal.

If we don’t have the journal or article you need, request the article for free through Interlibrary Loan.

Suggested Databases for Journal Articles

For the purposes of the locating journal articles on immigration to Pittsburgh and ethnic cultures in the city, the suggested databases are listed below.  Remember, to use these from off campus, you must download special software.  See the box to the right for additional information.