Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Femmes d'Alger dans leur appartement by Eugène Delacroix , 1834
French imperialism in the 18th and 19th centuries lead to colonial expansion in Africa and Asia. Combined with the opening of trade routes in Africa, the Middle East and Asia, this lead to a rise in exploration by French missionaries, government officials, philosophers, artists, and writers. The creation of written accounts and art based on the perception of cultures unknown to Western audiences and travel to these three regions solidified orientalism as both a literary and artistic movement.
This guide will help you research, analyze and interpret French travel narratives and associated materials from the 18th and 19th centuries. The guide is divided into the following sections:
- Getting Started- Provides background on various library departments and collections related to your assignments.
- Visiting Us - Presents an overview of the Special Collections Department.
- Class Resources - Lists materials on hold for your class and other available resources.
- PittCat+ - Includes tips on searching for collections in the library catalog that will aid in your research.
- Databases - Highlights which databases may contain articles and research on your topic.
- Citing Sources- Includes pointers on how to cite primary source material and information on Pitt usage policies.
- Contact Us - Provides ways to reach a librarian who would be happy to assist you. Don't hesitate to ask for help!
This link will take you to the University Library System homepage, where you can begin your search for materials.
Special Collections Department
Information regarding the Special Collections department, located in 363 Hillman Library.
Frick Fine Arts Library
Hours and info for the Frick Fine Arts library, located on Schenley Quad.
This research guide was originally developed and created by Tiffany Brand, MLIS, University of Pittsburgh ULS/SIS Diversity Librarian Fellowship and Residency Program Recipient, 2009-11.
Archives & Special Collections
A&SC at Hillman Library
3960 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15260