Skip to main content

Geography 0810 - Johnstown Campus: Electronic Resources

This Guide will help you use the University Library System to find geographic information for Geography 0810 Earth and People

Professional Resources

Several professional organizations that you may find useful are: 

The Pennsylvania Geographical Society. 

The Geographical Society ..."Exists to promote effective geographic teaching research and literacy at all levels and in all settings" From the  web page.

Association of American Geographers AAG

"The Association of American Geographers (AAG) is a nonprofit scientific and educational society.  Its members promote discussion in the practice of geography." From the  web page.

Bureau of labor statistics

Produced by the U.S. Department of Labor the web page describes geographers work environment, education requirements, pay scale, and job outlook. 

National Council for Geographic Education

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Pitt Passport Login Image

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Databases

A database is an online collection of article that you can search by topic or keyword.  Databases are great sources for articles becuase much of the material in ULS databases is the high quality, scholarly research information that most professors want.  Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.   

To search a database:

  • If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A-Z list. 
  • If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 814-269-7295 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.

Suggested Databases . .

These databases should be useful starting places for your Geography Research. 

Electronic Journals

 The following E-journals can be accesed through the University Library System.