Skip to main content

Education Research - Oakland Campus: Find Articles

This guide is designed to help graduate students in the School of Education with their Masters or PhD. level research.

How do I Find Articles . .

If you’re looking for articles on a topic, search an Article Database.

Databases are collections of articles that you can search by topic or subject.  Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.   

  • If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A-Z list. 
  • If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3331 or chatting online at Ask Us.

If you have a citation to an article, search PITTCat+.

PITTCat+ will list all the journals we subscribe to either online or in paper.  If the journal is online, the PITTCat+ record will offer a link directly to the journal database.   If the ULS doesn’t subscribe to the journal online, PITTCat+ will list any paper volumes and issues we have of that journal.

You can also use the Citation Linker to see if the article you are searching for is available online. 

If you’re off-campus try the E-journal search

You can search by the journal title to find out if we have a particular journal online.   Remember  that not all journals or issues of journals are available online.  To see if we have a journal either online or in paper, search PittCat+ for the journal title.

If we don’t have the journal or article you need, request the article for free through Interlibrary Loan.

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs

Getting Full-text Articles, Chapters and Books

The Get It! service allows users access to materials from across the Pitt collection!  Get It! lets everyone request the following from any ULS library, ULS Storage, and regional campuses:

  • Scans of individual chapters from books within the Pitt Collection
  • Scans of individual articles from paper magazines & journals from the Pitt collection
  • Delivery of books or items from a ULS Library or Storage to the ULS library of your choice

To use Get it!

  1. Find the available item in PITTCat+
  2. Click through to PITTCat Classic
  3. Click the Get it! heading in the upper area of the record.  Log in using your University Computing Account (email) username and password, and select Get It! from the drop-down menu.
  4.  Fill out the form; if you are requesting a chapter or article, fill in the citation information.  

See More HERE

Watch this Video: Using Get it! to Request Items from Storage

If Pitt Libraries don't have the books you need, you can use E-ZBorrow to request the items from other academic libraries.  Borrow an item from one of 70+ other regional libraries -- fast! You will need your Pitt ID number (starts with 2P) to use E-ZBorrow.

  • Pick up and return the items at any ULS Library. Items are generally delivered within 4-7 days
  • You will be notified via email when the book is available for pickup
  • E-ZBorrow items are checked out for six weeks with one six week renewal
  • Overdue fines are .25 per day/per item
  • The E-ZBorrow system handles requests for books. If you need a photocopy of an article, please request it through ILL (Interlibrary Loan) 
  • Your Patron ID No. is the number on your PITT ID

See More HERE

If you cannot find the materials you need from Get It! or E-Z Borrow, try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)!  You can order books or articles through this service, that will again be delivered to you for free.

ILL services are available to Pitt students, staff and faculty with a valid Pitt ID and Pitt computing account

• Articles usually arrive within 4 days and will be downloadable from your list of requests 
• Loans usually arrive within 2 weeks and will be visible from your account in PITTCat once they arrive
• Loan periods and renewals vary depending on the lending institution
• Loans can be picked up and returned at any ULS library
• Overdue fines are $1 per day per item, with no grace period
• A one-time user registration is required before making an ILL request.  You will not need to re-enter personal information every time you make a request
 
See More HERE
Loading ...