Skip to main content

Social Work - Johnstown Campus: Finding Articles

A guide to print, electronic, and Internet resources available for MSW cohort students at Pitt-Johnstown.

Search Google Scholar for More Articles

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

ULS Article Databases

Getting full-text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the Check Article Availability link in the database. This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article. If there is no online access, there's a link to PITTCat+ to see if we have the article in print.

Interlibrary Loan

If you can't access the article online, and we don't have a print copy of the journal, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan. Log in to this web site with your Pitt username and password:

 https://pitt.illiad.oclc.org/illiad

Fill out the requested information about the article. The article will be emailed to you as a pdf document in approximately 3-5 days.

Social Work Databases

You can find a list of related social work databases here. Here are a few of the best social work databases:

Child Welfare Information Gateway

This database enables the public to search the clearinghouse's documents database, which includes over 22,000 records; the Prevention Program's Database, which has information on over 400 community-based child abuse programs; and the National Directory of Child Abuse and Neglect Treatment Programs.

PsycINFO

This database is the electronic version of Psychological Abstracts. Its indexing coverage is from 1887 to the present and includes all types of documents. It is international in scope, including relevant materials related to the field of social work. Includes some full-text.

Social Work Abstracts

The database indexes more than 450 journals in all areas of the field of social work. Indexing coverage is from 1977 to present. It includes some links to full-text.

SocINDEX

SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology database featuring citations with subject headings from a sociology specific thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" journals dating back to 1985.

Owen Library