Skip to main content

Social Work - Johnstown Campus: Finding Books & Reference Materials

A guide to print, electronic, and Internet resources available for MSW cohort students at Pitt-Johnstown.

Social Workers' Desk Reference

Finding Books in Owen Library

Books in Owen Library are located in two main areas in the library. When you click on a title in PITTCat+, you will see both a call number and location information for the title. Here is a breakdown:

  1. Reference Collection - these books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, statistics, and more. Consult the list below if you're wondering where to start your research.
  2. General Collection - these books focus on theory, current events, reports, and other nonfiction titles. Most books on social work are classified under HM (Sociology), HN (Social history and conditions, social problems, social reform) and HV (Social pathology, social and public welfare, criminology) in the Library of Congress classification scheme. Similarly themed books are grouped together. For example, if you find a relevant book with a call number of HV 40, browse the collection in that area. Chances are, you will find another book that will be equally helpful.

Selected Reference Sources

DICTIONARIES & HANDBOOKS

APA dictionary of clinical psychology (Reference RC467 .A63 2013)

A dictionary of social work and social care  (Reference HV12 .H37 2013)

The Sage handbook of social work  (Reference HV40 .S24 2012)

The Social Work Dictionary (Reference HV12 .B37)

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development (Reference HQ767.9 .C352)

The Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics 4th ed. (Reference HQ1061 .E53)

Encyclopedia of Human Development (Reference HM626 .E53)

Encyclopedia of Social Work 20th ed. (Reference HV12 .E53)

Encyclopedia of Sociology (Reference HM425 .E5)

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence (Reference HQ772 .G27)

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family (Reference HQ9 .E52)

Social Work Almanac 2nd ed. (Reference HV90 .G53)

 

 

Owen Library