Engineering Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

Access Engineering
AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
American Society for Civil Engineers (ASCE)- Electronic Journals
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database
Search and view more than 40,300 binary and ternary phase diagrams for inorganic systems
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Contains the 13,000 ASTM standards, as well as manuals, monographs, data series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and 8 journals -- all of which pertain to the development and application of standards. Not only current issues of journals and publications, but also back issues going back 50yrs.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
Engineering Case Studies Online
Focuses on engineering successes and failures and can be used for projects, papers, and discussions that focus on ethics. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
IEEEXplore
Access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References
Database of the fulltext of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. Provides tabular and graphical data, including facts, figures, formulas and definitions.
OnePetro
OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. It contains more than 145,000 documents produced by 18 publishing partners, including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).
O'Reilly
Ebooks in computer science, information technology, and related fields. Unlimited simultaneous users.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SciFinder-n
If you don’t already have a SciFinder account, you should register first using your Pitt email address and a computer connected to the Pitt network.
SciFinder-n provides access to all the content of SciFinder plus additional resources and features, including synthesis planning, formulations data, analytical methods, and historical chemistry from the ChemZent database. It has a new interface with new searching options.
- If you already have a Pitt SciFinder account, just go to the SciFinder-n link and log in with your regular SciFinder credentials.
- If you don’t already have a SciFinder account, you should register first using your Pitt email address and a computer connected to the Pitt network.
Once your account is created, you can log into SciFinder-n with the same username and password.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer
Synthesis Collection of Technology
Collection of 50- to 100-page e-books that synthesize key research and development topics written by leading engineers and scientists in their field. These short e-books provide introductions to new areas for researchers, advanced developers, and students. Formerly known as: Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science.
*Access is available for collections 1-5.
Transportation Research Information Database (TRID)
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.3 million records of transportation research worldwide.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Engineering and Computer Science - Johnstown Campus

other resouces

Engineering Databases