M&A Data - Strategic Management of Acquisition & Divestment - Oakland Campus

Welcome

Use the information on this page to find M&A (mergers and acquisitions) and other transaction data and information.

You'll see links to the databases or resources, along with either text instructions or video tutorials on how to use them.

There are many ways to find M&A and other transaction/deals data for a specific company.

Use multiple of the following for more complete data, as they all have slightly different content and search options.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Please review the FAQ for information on terminal/workstation access in the library and individual accounts.
Provides an overview of the deal, a timeline, quick comparisons, and more information about people involved, like advisors.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides information about M&A deals through various data sources, including Mergerstat M&A and others.
Mergent's Events Data This link opens in a new window
Available on all computers and browsers, but it doesn't contain as much detailed data as Capital IQ. Tends to provide a brief overview of a companies actions, rather than details of specific transactions.

Use the video tutorials to learn how to find M&A data for specific companies. Use the to view the videos full-screen.

There are many ways to find M&A and other transaction/deals data for an industry or specific date range.

Use multiple of the following for more complete data, as they all have slightly different content and search options.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Please review the FAQ for information on terminal/workstation access in the library and individual accounts.
Allows you to filter by industry. Provides an overview of the deal, a timeline, quick comparisons, and more information about people involved, like advisors.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides a way to search across M&A deals in NexisUni.
Mergent's Events Data This link opens in a new window
Available on all computers and browsers, but it doesn't contain as much detailed data as the other two options. Tends to provide a brief overview of a companies actions, rather than details of specific transactions.

Use the video tutorials to learn how to find M&A data for industries or date ranges. Use the to view the videos full-screen.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Please review the FAQ for information on terminal/workstation access in the library and individual accounts.

Provides access to transcript audio and text in the Company Tearsheet.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly called Academic Lexis-Nexis) provides access to the FD (Fair Disclosure) Wire, which includes conference call transcripts.
Investext This link opens in a new window
Includes conference call transcripts from Thomson Reuters StreetEvents.

Bloomberg Terminal
Only available on Bloomberg Terminals in the Mervis Finance Lab, Rm 201. Once you are logged on to a terminal, on the single security main menu type EVT then hit GO for a calendar of corporate events. Check for audio and/or transcripts of earnings calls.
Seeking Alpha
Search for your company in the search box to the right.

Use the to view the video full-screen.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contents include newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.
To do a search for articles on M&A activity, use a word like 'merge,' 'acquisition,' 'acquire,' or 'divestment' in the first search box, and then the company or industry you are interested in the second box.

Mergers & Acquisitions
This monthly magazine features articles and data related to M&A activities. The February or March issue typically contains a year in review section which contains many data tables.
While the articles are available online, the data tables are only view-able in the print copies.