Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Request Material in PittCat
You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in and then click on the item you need. Options within the item:
Request This Item
Use this to request print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd. for No-Contact Pick-Up or Home Delivery. After finding a book, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Request a Scan
Use this to request a scanned book chapter or an article. After finding an article or to request a book chapter, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If you identify an item in PittCat that is not available through our collections, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
If you have any questions about this, please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.
Children's Literature Collections at PITT
- The Elizabeth Nesbitt Collection
The Nesbitt Collection is comprised primarily of children's literature and material related to the history of children and their books and media. The non-circulating collection encompasses more than 12,000 items dating from the 1600's through the present day and incudes books, magazines, audio-visual material, manuscripts, artifacts, and more. While some of materials are located within Hillman Library in Special Collections, many are housed in our Archives Service Center or our Storage Facility and must be requested for use in Hillman Library, Special Collections. The Elizabeth Nesbitt Collection LibGuide describes resources and how to access materials.
Hanley Library Curriculum Resource Center - Bradford Campus
This collection includes fiction and nonfiction titles appropriate for use with grades P-12. Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King winners as well as selected honor books are available for circulation using Get It.
Joan Chambers Children's Literature Collection - Greensburg Campus
This collection includes circulating Newbery and Caldecott titles and many other well-loved and significant books for children. To obtain an item from this collection, do a PITTCat+ search, limit your results to Greensburg, and use Get It to request titles to be sent to Hillman for you.
Children's Literature & Psychology Librarian
Curator, Liaison Librarian for Children's Literature, Cultural Studies, and Medieval & Renaissance Studies