University of Pittsburgh Library System

Gale’s Archives of Sexuality and Gender program spans the sixteenth to twentieth centuries and is the largest digital collection of historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender research and gender studies research. Documentation covering disciplines such as social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) communities around the world are included, as well as rare and unique books on sex and sexuality from the sciences to the humanities to support research and education. The selection of materials for this milestone digital program is guided by an advisory board consisting of leading scholars and librarians in sexuality and gender studies.

The Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection incorporates 10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk (Lugansk, in local spelling) republics of Ukraine. Both the Donetsk People’s Republic and Luhansk People’s Republic were established as independent state entities after local referendums organized by the separatist leaders were conducted in May 2014. Following their declaration of independence from Ukraine, the pro-Russian insurgents took over the media, both independent and formerly government-run, thereby influencing the information flow to and from territories under their control. These new governments and their supporters also created new media outlets, with limited circulation, but with a much stricter editorial agenda.

One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection provides demographic information on the "evacuees" resident at the various relocation camps.

Izvestiia served as the paper of record—the official daily newspaper—of the Soviet government from 1917 until the dissolution of the USSR in 1991, when Izvestiia became an independent publication.
During the February Revolution of 1917, Izvestiia was founded in Petrograd (now St. Petersburg) as the main newspaper of “The Petrograd Soviet of Workers’ and Soldiers’ Deputies.” At the time, Izvestiia reflected the views more common among the Menshiviks and other democratic socialist parties, with a moderate lean toward other liberal opposition groups. After the October Socialist Revolution, Izvestiia passed into the hands of the Bolsheviks. When the new Soviet government transferred the capital to Moscow, the newspaper was relocated as well. During the Soviet era, Izvestiia became the mouthpiece of the Kremlin, informing the public of government policies through its pages. Izvestiia was also recognized for its extensive international coverage, having correspondents in more than 30 foreign countries. This also made the paper an important channel for Soviet foreign policy.

This publication consists of the documents from The Papers of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Small Collections, "Japanese American Internment Collections," in the custody of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park, N.Y.

Kanopy is an award-winning video streaming service providing access to more than 30,000 independent and documentary films ─ titles of unique social and cultural value from The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and thousands of independent filmmakers.

Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more! Libby is the newer library reading app by OverDrive, loved by millions of readers worldwide.

The NIMS Materials Database (MatNavi) aims to contribute to the development of new materials and the selection of materials. MatNavi includes Polymer DB (chemical structures, polymerization, processing, physical properties, NMR spectra, etc.), Inorganic MaterialDB (crystal structures, phase diagrams, physical properties, etc.), Metallic Material DB (density, elastic constants, creep characteristics, etc.) and Computational Electronic Structure DB (band structures obtained by first-principles calculations, etc). It also offers applications such as the Composite Design & Property Prediction System.

This resource requires DICE account registration using a pitt.edu email address and the completion of the MatNavi usage application.

This publication consists of the testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses: Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, internees, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals who had studied the subjects of the Commission's inquiry. Many of the transcripts are personal stories of experiences of evacuees. Documents include publications, reports, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc. related to the hearings.

The Preprint Citation Index on the Web of Science is a multidisciplinary collection of preprints from leading repositories. It helps researchers and graduate students stay current with the newest research while maintaining confidence in the resources they rely on.

Reproduced here are records of the New York State Supreme Court, which include a full testimony of all witnesses, including the two who spoke in secrecy to hide their identities; preliminary motions, summations, the court's charge, the verdicts, and the sentences; and a confession made years after the trial by one of the men convicted.

This publication covers President Eisenhower's use of Federal troops and the Arkansas National Guard in the Little Rock integration crisis of 1957 -1958. The operation is detailed from the planning for intervention prior to deployment, up to the withdrawal of troops at the end of the school year. Records include a journal of events, an Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Operations & Plans summary of the operation, a historical report prepared by the Office of the Chief of Military History, papers on Governor Faubus' actions with regard to integration, press reports and observations by Army officers on the reaction of the community, and congressional correspondence.