This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Al Madina is one of the oldest newspapers published in Saudi Arabia. Founded in 1937 in Jeddah, Al Madina is best known for covering national politics from a pro-government perspective, while providing more critical coverage of non-political news, including on topics like education and health. The Al Madina digital archive is a valuable resource for scholars of history, politics, and Middle East and North African Studies.
Al-Ba’ath Digital Archive is a valuable resource for scholars of history, Middle East and North African studies, military science, and politics.
This database tracks the development trends of the "Belt and Road" industry, labels and classifies information from the perspectives of industry information, international cooperation, expert opinions, and corporate concerns, keeping users up to date on the latest trends in the "Belt and Road" industry and information technology fields.
*Trial period ends 2/28/25*
The Belt and Road Database is a full-text database. It includes thousands of academic journals from dozens of countries with insights into business trends, infrastructure projects, research collaborations, and trade opportunities.
*Trial period ends 2/28/25*
Explore a stunning collection of rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that reveals the socio-cultural history of these times. Showcasing innovative new publishing methods characteristic of the golden age of children’s literature, from mass-produced chapbooks to richly illustrated ‘book-beautifuls’, this resource examines the way in which new concepts were introduced to young readers, encouraging an engagement with the imagination which went on to fundamentally shape established notions of childhood.
A database with over 120,000 books published in mainland China between the years of 1890-1949 and still expanding. The subjects covered include humanities, social sciences, sciences, and technology.
*Trial period ends on 2/28/25*
The East African Newspapers collection provides insight into this region during this critical time, featuring key newspapers from the region from the 1940s to the mid 2010s.
El Caribe is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers.
Fanyun Literature contains a collection of Chinese newspapers between the years 1902-1949.
*Trial period ends 2/28/25*
Far Eastern Affairs is a quarterly journal from the Russian Academy of Sciences since 2002. It focuses on Russia's relationships with countries in the Asia-Pacific region, like China, Japan, and the Koreas. The journal covers a variety of subjects, including history, culture, politics, and economics.
The Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers collection traces the history of Ukraine during this early period of independence, and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005).
The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
Nikkei Asia covers business, political, economic and technology news from Japan, China, Korea, India and Southeast Asia. It also provides expert analysis published by Nihon Keizai Shinbun, Japan's largest financial newspaper.
News and views on Japan's politics. Database includes a weekly review of the biggest stories in Japanese politics; analysis of new public opinion polls; periodic essays on major political stories.
To access all content, please email ULS-ElectronicResourcesTeam@pitt.edu to request an account.
A non-profit, open-access press publishing academic monographs, edited collections, textbooks, critical translations, and more in all disciplines.
*Authentication is not required for access but allows for free ebook downloads for all titles. To access without authenticating, click here.*
The China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database features authoritative pishu (皮书), analytical reports by top Chinese policymakers and scholars. These reports provide in-depth analysis on key social, cultural, and economic issues, shaping China's policymaking and development strategies.
*Trial period ends 2/28/25*
The Post-Perestroika Newspapers collection traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage beginning in the mid-1980s and extending well into the twenty-first century.
First time users will need to create an account with their Pitt email address using self registration. For questions about this resource or the signup process, please contact ULS-BizRef@pitt.edu.
Workspace is a comprehensive financial database that provides access to global pricing data, company fundamentals, analyst reports, ESG data, deals and league tables, news, and more.
This database contains nearly 10,000 Soviet-era archives from 10+ Russian institutions, featuring documents such as CPSU reports, private letters, diaries, interrogation records, and rehabilitation materials. It covers key events, including economic issues, intra-party struggles, the Trotsky controversy, and the Kirov case. Presented in Chinese and Russian and with search options by theme, event, or person.
*You will need to login with the credentials pitt2024 and the password 123456. Trial period ends 2/28/25*
The Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers (SEUN) collection traces the history of Ukraine, covering events leading up to WWII. Comprising over 50,000 pages and five titles, SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv.
This collection includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.
Teaching Channel is a one-stop shop for teacher learning and development, from Learners Edge graduate-level courses and professional development programs, to our innovative video platform for self-reflection, coaching and calibration. Teaching Channel also offers loads of free resources for teachers in their new K12 Hub.
*Access begins on January 1st, 2025.
