This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is a growing all-inclusive bibliographic spine for 19th-century research. C19 is a one-stop finding tool covering multiple content types, providing records for more than 22.8 million documents ranging from books and newspapers to government documents and periodicals at the article level.
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
SYNTHIA™ is a retrosynthesis software tool that uses AI to plan the chemical synthesis of known and novel molecular targets. It can propose and analyze multiple synthetic pathways using a variety of filters. It can aid in identifying new or improved synthetic approaches. SYNTHIA™ users must create an individual account to access it.
You must use your Pitt email address and be connected to the Pitt network when you create your account. To create an account, enter your Pitt email in the username field and click “Register Now”. After entering the requested information and clicking ‘Register’, you should receive an email with either a confirmation code or an account verification link.
Taiwan Epochal Democracy Magazines (臺灣經典民論雜誌)
The series collects the epochal democracy magazines of public opinion forums published in Taiwan and Hong Kong from 1949 to 2010. It aims to digitize and represent anew these masterpieces that are landmarks of different generations but are vanishing from paper collections of libraries, so to review the grace of those opinion leaders’ thoughts in that era, and encourage alive people to learn from predecessors’ wisdom.
*We have access to the following through Taiwan Epochal Democracy Magazines:
China Tide (夏潮)
"The China Tide" was a representative magazine of the left-wing and socialist in Taiwan gathering almost all the left-wing articles in the 1970s.
Founded by Huang Hsin-chieh and Shih Ming-teh, etc., "Formosa" is the most well-known anti-KMT magazine taking radical “the masses approach” during Taiwan's martial law period.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).