Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Guide on Past and Current Archives & Special Collections Exhibits @ the University of Pittsburgh Library System - Oakland (2020-present)

80 Years of the Greek Nationality Classroom

Date of Exhibition: Fall 2021- Present 

Curator: Zach Brodt (University Archivist & Records Manager)

Location: Archives & Special Collections at the Archives Service Center, 7500 Thomas Boulevard Pittsburgh, PA 15208 

Description: On November 7, 1941, the Greek Nationality Room was dedicated in the Cathedral of Learning after eleven years of planning and fundraising by members of the University and Pittsburgh communities, as well as an analogous committee in Greece.

The classical architecture in the fifth century B.C. The marble columns are patterned after the Acropolis and the ceiling and doorway were ornately designed by Greek painters. The professor and guest chairs are marked with the names Plato, Aristotle, and Socrates, while the student chairs are marked with the names of Greek town and islands. 

Centered by a reproduction of Andrey Avinoff's watercolor of the Greek Room, this exhibit also contains photographs of the room's construction and dedication, examples of hardware used in the room, and ephemera from Greek Nationality Room Committee events. 

Exhibit Photographs