Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

ENGLIT 0646: Apocalypse - Oakland Campus

This guide is for students enrolled in ENGLIT 0646: Apocalypse or conducting research in the areas of apocalyptic traditions, eschatology studies, and religious studies.

Primary Sources

This page provides links to online resources for the primary/sacred texts of Judaism, Zoroastrianism, Islam, Aboriginal tradition (Australia), Hinduism, Buddhism, Norse Mythology, and indigenous communities of the Americas.  

Sacred Texts

Tools for Finding Primary Sources

Library Catalogs

  • Search PittCat to find primary source materials at ULS libraries.
  • Search WorldCat to find collections at thousands of libraries worldwide. Use the Advanced Search feature to limit by format or publication date.

Finding Aids

A finding aid is "a description of records that gives the repository physical and intellectual control over the materials and that assists users to gain access to and understand the materials." Source: Richard Pearce-Moses. Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology. Chicago: The Society of American Archivists, 2005.

Use finding aids to locate processed archival collections in archives, libraries, and museums. Finding aids are increasingly available online and freely accessible.

Reference & Other Print Sources

Make use of the many excellent print resources that are available to find primary source materials.  These include:

  • Bibliographies
  • Film, Literature, and Periodical Indexes
  • Biographical Resources
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • Secondary Sources (search the text, footnotes, and bibliographies for references to primary sources used)

Internet Search Engines

  • Use the Internet to find primary source materials by adding primary source specific terms (see Searching PittCat) to a Search Engine search. For example, "Civil War + Pennsylvania soldiers + diaries."