Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

Underground Railroad - Oakland Campus

This guide will assist students in Prof. Marcus Rediker's HIST 1005 seminar course on the Underground Railroad

Christopher Lemery

Christopher Lemery

Email Me

Contact:

405 Hillman Library

Subjects: Global Studies & GSPIA, Government Information, History, Political Science, Religious Studies

Subject Encyclopedias & Guides

Chronology of World Slavery by Junius P. Rodriguez
Call Number: online
ISBN: 0874368847
Publication Date: 1999-06-15
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780195167771
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Encyclopedia of the Underground Railroad by J. Blaine Hudson
Call Number: online
ISBN: 0786424591
Publication Date: 2006-03-03
A Historical Guide to World Slavery by Seymour Drescher (Editor); Stanley L. Engerman (Editor)
Call Number: HT 861 .H59 1998
ISBN: 0195120914
Publication Date: 1998-03-19
The Oxford Handbook of the African American Slave Narrative by John Ernest
Call Number: PS366.A35 O94 2014
ISBN: 9780199731480
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
The Underground Railroad : An Encyclopedia of People, Places, and Operations by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780765680938
Publication Date: 2008-05-15

Statistics

Historical Statistics of Black America by Jessie C. Smith (Editor); Carrell Horton (Editor)
Call Number: E185 H543 1995
ISBN: 0810385422
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
International Historical Statistics : Americas 1750-2005, 6th ed. by B. R. Mitchell; Brian R. Mitchell
Call Number: HA175 M55 2007
ISBN: 9780230005136
Publication Date: 2007-11-19

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Presents mainly US census data for the nation as a whole, such as immigration statistics by country of origin or mortality rates by disease, ranging back to the 1800s.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
This important work was published between 1878 and 2012 by the Census Bureau. It provides authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Census Schedules Search

Biography Database

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on over 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.

Maps

Perry Castaneda Library Historical Maps Online
Library of Congress Digital Map Collection
David Rumsey Collection
Large digital collection of privately held antique maps from around the world.