Skip to main content

Major American Dramatists - Johnstown Campus: Home

a guide library resources for ENGLIT1420 with Dr. Zauhar

Journal Review Assignment

You have bibliographies of articles for this assignment in CourseWeb. Here are some tips on using them.

Use Phrase Searching. Copy an article title from a bibliography with the surrounding quote marks (example: "Covert Appropriations of Shakespeare: Three Case Studies.") and paste in the PITTCat search box. The article may show up.

Sometimes it doesn't (example: Shea, Laura. "A Note on O'Neill's Long Day's Journey into Night." Notes on Contemporary Literature 23.3 (May 1993): 4-5.). If you need an article that you can't locate in PITTCat, go through Interlibrary Loan and use the Requests From Other Libraries link.

A more efficient method is to go directly to the MLA International Bibliography. This database can locate some of the articles that PITTCat doesn't find. You can also use it to find more recent articles. On the database's search page, use the Publication Date option under Limit your results to find articles from 2009 to 2011, and click the checkbox for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Major American Dramatists

The purpose of this guide is to help students in ENGLIT1420 complete their Journal Reviews and Research Paper Assignment. This guide will provide information on using PITTCat to find books and articles for the assignments, and also give help on using reference management tools and writing citations.

The MLA 7th Edition page gives basic information on MLA Style, and links to sources of help and further information.

RefWorks is a web-based reference management tool that the University makes available to the Pitt community. The RefWorks section provides in-depth information on using the tool to collect references and create citations and bibliographies.

Research Paper Assignment

There are descriptions of these databases on the Finding Articles page. Below you will find some helpful hints to make your research easier.

Library Instruction Coordinator

Paul Bond
Contact:
101 Owen Library
paulbond@pitt.edu
814-269-7287