Finding Articles
Looking for articles on a specific issue related to sustainability? Search these databases:
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides scholarly articles about business issues.
Key terms: sustainability, green power, sustainable development, energy efficiency - GreenFILEGreenFILE is a multidisciplinary database for scholarly articles.
Key terms: corporate sustainability, corporate environmentalism, triple bottom line - Global Market Information DatabaseGMID is a great resource for international statistics.
Key terms: green products, sustainable - Conference BoardClick or “Business Management Research” and you can browse “Sustainability” topic for a list of reports.
- Sustainability: Science, Practice and PolicySSPP is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal that provides a platform for cross-disciplinary discussion of empirical science as well as practice and policy developments related to sustainability.
- National Library for the EnvironmentThis is an expert-reviewed collection of articles about the Earth. Browse under the topic "Society and the Environment" for information related to sustainability.
- CQ ResearcherProvides a comprehensive overview of sustainability issues. You can browse by topic under "Energy" or "Environment and Natural Resources" or do a key word search.
Getting Started
Sustainable Development is "economic development based on the principles of conservation and use of renewable rather than nonrenewable resources." - Folsom, W. Davis Understanding American Business Jargon: A Dictionary 2nd Ed.
Websites of interest:
- ELDISArticles on business and the environment from Institute of Development Studies in Sussex.
- Global Footprint NetworkMeasures how much land and water area a human population requires to produce the resource it consumes and to absorb its wastes.
- GreenBizNews, reports, forums, tweets, directories and other resources.
- EDF+ BusinessEnvironmental Defense Fund's guide to sustainable business.
- Environmental LeaderEnvironmental news, videos, charts and online discussion.
PITTCat+
PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.
- PITTCat+Access PITTCat+ directly or use the ULS Digital Library homepage.
Related Research Guides
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Designed to help students research companies, industries and careers in CSR.
708 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 24, 2012
Designed to assist students in BUSENV 0060: Managerial Ethics and Stakeholder management, taught by Prof. Ron Magnuson
154 views this year
Access Our Library Anywhere!

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy!
Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Loading...
